Tag Archives: Guy Sebastian

Artist of the Day: Guy Sebastian! (PICS, VIDEO, U.S. TOUR DATES!)

"Like It Like That" - Guy Sebastian

I’m LOVING this Aussie boy…and I thank my friend Deborah for turning me on to Guy Sebastian.  Take a look and listen, y’all.  He’s extremely talented and cool–and has some fantastic collaborators…

Official Guy Sebastian Press Release:

Los Angeles, CA: Soul-singer Guy Sebastian‘s debut U.S. album Like It Like That is being released this month through an exclusive arrangement with Barnes & Noble stores which will carry the CD beginning June 29. Additionally, the album was made available for sale on June 8th at iTunes, Amazon and other digital services.

Recorded over six months in Los Angeles and New York, the album was produced by David Ryan Harris (John Mayer, Mariah Carey, Nick Jonas, Marc Broussard) and Fredrick Rodesjo, with John Mayer‘s guitarwork featured on “All To Myself,” “Fail To Mention” and “Never Be You”. The result is an album of true musical depth, an album that perfectly showcases the rare and charismatic talent of Guy Sebastian  – big sounds, big beats, blasting horns and those oh-so-soulful Sebastian vocals.

And for the first time creatively, Sebastian says he’s exactly where he wants to be. “I’m in a really happy place musically,” says Guy, “because this is exactly the style of music I want to do and that I’ve wanted to do for so long. It’s not about me changing the world; it’s just about fun music, pure and simple.”

The album’s title track and first single, “Like It Like That” revs the energy up with its opening claps and vintage Wurlitzer organ that immediately transcends into an all-out expression of supreme joy. It segues into “All To Myself,” which hits you with its nod to classic ’60s soul, from the beautiful harmonies of the backing vocals to the big blast of the horn section; this song rises and rises again to a joyous crescendo.

The feel-good vibes permeate throughout the funky, bass-heavy “Never Hold You Down” which has a companion video that was recently shot along the boardwalk at Venice Beach, CA with a cast of over 70 characters including a marching band. The song is Guy’s personal favorite from the new album. “This I wrote about a friend of mine, who is wonderful. She’s one of those girls that you would hate to be her boyfriend, because you would know as much as you would want to believe that you’ve got her, you know that you don’t…I’ll never be able to hold you down.”

Overall, Like It Like That is an inspired collaboration of credentialed producers and musicians and features two powerful duets, one with American Idol winner Jordin Sparks called “Art of Love” and a swinging toe-tapper called “Magic” featuring Melbourne singer Tarryn Stokes. Elsewhere, the mood goes deeper with the lush, orchestral sounds of “Bring Yourself,” a luxurious ode to Guy’s wife Jules.

Sebastian is continuing to commute between the US and Australia for the remainder of 2010. He’s scheduled to play some select west coast dates in July, including three special guest appearances to duet with Jordin Sparks, before returning to his homeland to gear up for his participation as a celebrity judge alongside Natalie Imbruglia and Ronan Keating on the new season of The X Factor.

There is no doubt that Guy Sebastian has the “X” factor as a true soul singer with a unique modern sound.

“I wrote the music on this album based on how I feel when I listen to the Otis Reddings and the Wilson Picketts of the world. I’ll put that music on and it always just lifts me and makes me feel great. Music is so powerful. It’s powerful enough on a personal level, without me trying to change the world,” says Guy. “I just want to change someone’s ten minutes on the way to work.”

“…that classic Motown stompin’ feel that makes you move your feet, while “Bring Yourself” has conversational lyrics akin to Stevie Wonder’s best work.” ICON FETCH

1)     Like It Like That
2)     All To Myself (w/ John Mayer)
3)     Art of Love (Ft. Jordin Sparks)
4)     Attention
5)     Magic (Ft. Tarryn Stokes)
6)     Bring Yourself
7)     Never Hold You Down
8)     Fail To Mention (w/ John Mayer)
9)     Never Be You (w/ John Mayer)
10)   Coming Home
11)   Undo
12)  Perfection

Is Guy coming to a city near YOU?

Bloody hell, he’s great. Who wants to dance with me? C’MON!